AEW Collision Debut Sees Championship Change


AEW Collision Debut Sees Championship Change
AEW Collision Debut Sees Championship Change

In an unprecedented turn of events during the inaugural match of AEW's brand-new television show, Collision, the TNT Championship witnessed a change of hands. The much-anticipated debut of AEW Collision happened on Saturday night, broadcasted from the United Center in Chicago on TNT.

This historic episode was marked by the triumphant return of the iconic CM Punk to AEW, following a nine-month hiatus. Punk kicked off the show with an engaging promo and later appeared in the highlight main event tag team match.

The TNT Championship saw a dramatic twist as Luchasaurus achieved his first singles title triumph by dethroning the reigning champion, Wardlow. The towering Luchasaurus was supported at ringside by his comrade, Christian Cage, during this intense encounter.

In contrast, Wardlow was left to fend for himself, missing the presence of Arn Anderson, who had previously been assaulted by the duo of Luchasaurus and Christian. In the face of adversity, Wardlow looked set for a triumphant victory after delivering a massive Powerbomb, a testament to his strength and one of his signature moves.

Nevertheless, Luchasaurus displayed a remarkable display of resilience, bouncing back with an impressive Chokeslam, which only narrowly missed securing the victory. The intense back-and-forth contest continued to keep viewers on the edge of their seats.

Wardlow fought back valiantly, retaliating with a bone-crushing powerslam, and then raising the stakes even higher with an awe-inspiring Swanton Bomb from the top rope, demonstrating his incredible agility and raw power.

Luchasaurus Seizes TNT Championship

In the closing moments of the match, as Wardlow attempted to corner Luchasaurus against the turnbuckle, Luchasaurus cleverly distracted the referee, allowing Christian to strike Wardlow with a camera.

With the champion dazed, Luchasaurus seized the opportunity, landing a clothesline and pinning Wardlow to claim the TNT Championship. The TNT Championship in AEW is known for its frequent title changes, contrasting with other AEW titles that often see extended reigns.

Indeed, this represents the sixth TNT Title change for the year 2023. The championship's roll call for this year includes Darby Allin, Samoa Joe, Powerhouse Hobbs, and Wardlow, who had two separate reigns, and now the newly crowned champion, Luchasaurus.