google newsGoogle News  

Major League Wrestling

Major League Wrestling is an American wrestling federation based in the city of New Rochelle, founded by Court Bauer in 2002 and, after the first closure in 2004, reactivated in 2017.

Major League Wrestling was founded on June 12, 2002 by Court Bauer as a response to the closure of Extreme Championship Wrestling, with the goal of picking up on his legacy and trying to face World Wrestling Entertainment; in fact, wrestlers of the caliber of Steve Corino performed in the first shows, L.A. Park, Terry Funk, Sandman, Vampiro, Mike Awesome and Sabu. On February 14, 2004, however, MLW closed its doors due to competition from Ring of Honor, another federation founded in Philadelphia five months earlier.

On July 21, 2017, MLW was re-founded with the announcement of an event called the MLW One-Shot. During 2018 he organized other shows in Orlando (Florida) which were very successful and managed to secure a television agreement with beIN Sports for a new program entitled MLW Fusion. In 2019 he signed partnership agreements with Lucha Libre AAA Worldwide, Pro Wrestling Noah and Dragon Gate to expand into the international market.

Related articles