Tag Team

The World Tag Team Championship was a tag team professional wrestling title in WWE created on June 3, 1971, and retired on August 16, 2010.

Prior to the creation of the WWE Tag Team Championship in 2002, the title was the World Wrestling Federation/Entertainment's top tag team honor for much of its early years.

The title began as the WWWF World Tag Team Championship. The first ever champions were Luke Graham and Tarzan Tyler on June 3, 1971, after grabbing a tournament win. In 1979 the name change of the federation led to a transformation also in the names of the titles and the belt assumed the denomination of WWF World Tag Team Championship.

On November 18, 2001, at Survivor Series, the title was unified with the WCW Tag Team Championship when The Dudley Boyz defeated The Hardy Boyz in a Steel Cage match. With the federation's new name change in 2002, the title was renamed the WWE Tag Team Championship.

On the August 16, 2010 episode of Raw, the anonymous Raw General Manager decided to remove the Unified WWE Tag Team Championship to replace it with two new belts, simply renamed the WWE Tag Team Championship, presented by Bret Hart and delivered to then champions David Hart Smith and Tyson Kidd; as a result, the World Tag Team Championship was retired.