google newsGoogle News  

The Shield

The Shield was a wrestling stable active in WWE between 2012 and 2014 and again between 2017 and 2018 and twice more during 2019, formed by Dean Ambrose, Roman Reigns and Seth Rollins.

The Shield made its debut on November 18, 2012, at the Survivor Series pay-per-view, interfering in the main event between CM Punk, John Cena and Ryback. The group was immediately a dominant force in 6-Men Tag Team matches, going undefeated in such matches until May 13, 2013; during this time he defeated the likes of The Undertaker, Kane, Daniel Bryan, Big Show, Randy Orton, Sheamus, Chris Jericho and John Cena.

On May 19, 2013 at Extreme Rules 2013 Dean Ambrose defeated Kofi Kingston to win the WWE United Stated Championship while The Shield's tag team partners (Roman Reigns and Seth Rollins) defeated Team Hell No to win the WWE Tag Team Championships.

Rollins left The Shield on June 2, 2014, when he attacked his two teammates with a chair and sided with The Authority. The following June 20, the group finally disbanded peacefully, when Ambrose and Reigns decided to go their separate ways to pursue careers as singles wrestlers.

At Royal Rumble 2019 Rollins won the match of the same name getting a title shot against Brock Lesnar for his WWE Universal Championship and following the return of Reigns the latter asked Rollins for a favor, namely to reunite the Shield for one last match before of WrestleMania 35 and the latter I accept, later on the episode of Raw on March 4th they also managed to convince Ambrose thus reuniting the Shield and on March 10th at Fastlane 2019 the stable defeated Baron Corbin, Bobby Lashley and Drew McIntyre. The next night on Raw, the Shield disbanded.

Later Rollins won the WWE Universal Championship and due to the expiration of Ambrose's contract an event called The Shield's Final Chapter was organized where in the main event the three met one last time in the Shield defeating Corbin, Lashley and McIntyre again.

Related articles